17 Sep 2021

First meeting of the ELI ERIC International Scientific and Technical Advisory Committee (ISTAC)

The first International Scientific and Technical Advisory Committee (ISTAC) meeting of the newly established ELI ERIC was held online on 16 September 2021. The purpose of the committee is to offer independent advice on key scientific and technical aspects related to joint operations of the ELI facilities in Hungary and the Czech Republic, as well as make recommendations for long-term strategy and the future user policy to ensure effective utilisation of the facilities. The ISTAC reports directly to the ELI ERIC General Assembly.

In this first meeting, the ISTAC members were introduced and given an update on the current status of the newly established ELI ERIC. The session also served to define the role and objective of the committee itself and elect the Chair, Prof. John Collier (RAL, UK) and Vice Chair, Dr. Marta Fajardo (IST, Portugal) both which need to be confirmed by the ELI ERIC General Assembly.

“World class science is of the highest priority for ELI ERIC and the ISTAC plays a crucial role towards this by guiding the scientific and technical developments at the ELI facilities.” said Prof. John Collier, Director of the Central Laser Facility (CLF) at RAL in the United Kingdom and Chair elect of the ISTAC. “The goal is to ensure that the facilities can meet the user community’s needs and deliver scientific excellence” - he added.

The ISTAC will meet three times a year going forward and is made up of 14 leading experts in the field of laser science from Europe and the United States.
International Scientific and Technical Advisory Committee (ISTAC) members:

Angela Bracco, Università di Milano/National Institute of Nuclear Physics (INFN)
Francesca Calegari, Center for Free-Electron Laser Science (CFEL)
John Collier, Central Laser Facility - Science and Technology Facilities Council (CLF - STFC)
Colin Danson, AWE Aldermaston
Marta Fajardo, Istituto Superior Tecnico (IST)
Roger Falcone, University of California, Berkeley
Sylvie Jacquemot, École Polytechnique
Wim Leemans, Deutsches Elektronen-Synchrotron (DESY)
Claudio Masciovecchio, Elettra (Fermi)
Mauro Nisoli, Politecnico di Milano (CNR)
Ulrich Schramm, Helmholtz-Zentrum Dresden-Rossendorf (HZDR)
Thomas Tschentscher, European XFEL
Arünas Varanavicius, University of Vilnius
Jon Zuegel, University of Rochester