ELI ERIC - European Research Infrastructure Consortium

On 30 April 2021, the Extreme Light Infrastructure (ELI) was granted the legal status of European Research Infrastructure Consortium (ERIC) by the European Commission. ELI ERIC will provide access to world-class high power and ultra-fast lasers for science and enable cutting-edge research in physical, chemical, materials, and medical sciences, as well as breakthrough technological innovations.

The ERIC is a specific legal form designed to facilitate the establishment and operation of Research Infrastructures of European interest. ERICs are participated by States and international organisations as members. As a main statutory mission, ELI ERIC is responsible for making the ELI Facilities available to the scientific community as a single international organisation, with unified governance and management.

The Czech Republic hosts the ELI ERIC statutory seat in Dolní Břežany, in the South of Prague, at the ELI Beamlines facility. A second facility, ELI-ALPS, is hosted by Hungary in Szeged. The Czech Republic and Hungary are joined by Italy and Lithuania as founding members, while Germany and Bulgaria are founding observers. A third ELI facility is under construction in Romania in the field of nuclear photonics and is expected to complement the current ELI ERIC facilities in the future.

The newly formed ELI ERIC is tasked with enabling scientists to access the state-of-the-art lasers at the ELI facilities. Access is open for all scientists and based on proposals evaluated by an independent panel.

The decision by the European Commission and the ERIC statutes are publicly available in the EU Official Journal.

General Assembly and Appointed Representatives

On 16 June 2021, the first General Assembly of ELI ERIC was held with delegates and experts from each member and observer country. Allen Weeks, former Director General of ELI DC (Delivery Consortium, an international non-profit association that supported the coordinated implementation of the ELI research facilities) was appointed the Director General of ELI ERIC, while Prof. Caterina Petrillo was appointed Chair of the General Assembly.

                                                                                 Allen Weeks                                           Caterina Petrillo
                                                                   Director General of ELI ERIC                Chair of the General Assembly

Delegates and Experts of the General Assembly

Founding Members:

Czech Republic

Lukáš Levák (Delegate)
Director of the Department for R&D, Ministry of Education, Youth and Sports 

Jan Řídký (Delegate)
Vice President, Czech Academy of Sciences (CAS)

Marek Vyšinka (Expert Advisor)
Head of Unit for Research Infrastructures, Department of Research and Development, Ministry of Education, Youth and Sports

Michael Prouza (Expert Advisor)
Director of FZU - Institute of Physics of the Czech Academy of Sciences


Tibor Gulyás (Delegate)
Deputy State Secretary for Innovation, Ministry for Innovation and Technology (ITM)

Zsolt Fülöp (Delegate)
Chairman, National Research Infrastructure Committee


Sandro De Silvestri (Delegate)
Associate member of the “Institute of Photonics and Nanotechnology” of the National Research Council
Chairman of the General Assembly of Laserlab-Europe AISBL

Alessandro Boero (Delegate)
Officer of the Italian Ministry for Universities and Research (MUR)

Eugenio Nappi (Expert advisor)
Director of Research, National Institute for Nuclear Physics (INFN)

Giorgio Rossi (Expert advisor)
Professor of Physics Dipartimento di Fisica, Università degli Studi di Milano


Diana Uždavinienė (Delegate)
Chief Officer, Division of Science, Department of Higher Education, Science and Technology Ministry of Education, Science and Sport

Aidas Matijošius (Delegate)
Director of the Laser Research Center in the Faculty of Physics at the Vilnius University

Arūnas Varanavičius (Expert advisor)
Chief Researcher, Laser Research Center, Vilnius University (VU LRC)

Tadas Juknevičius (Expert advisor)
Head of Science Division at the Ministry of Education, Science and Sport of Lithuania

Founding Observers:


Milena Damyanova (Delegate)
Director of the Science Directorate, Ministry of Education and Science (MON)

Lubomir Kovachev (Delegate)

Head of Nonlinear Optics Laboratory, Institute of Electronics, Bulgarian Academy of Sciences (BAS)


Eckart Lilienthal (Delegate)
Head of Division, Universe and Matter, Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF)

Sebastian Schmidt (Delegate)

Scientific Director, Helmholtz-Zentrum Dresden-Rossendorf (HZDR)

Bernadette Klose (Expert advisor)
Scientific Officer, DLR Project Management Agency

Barbara Schramm (Expert advisor)
EU-Liason Officer, Head of Department Research Programmes & Inl. Projects, Helmholtz-Zentrum Dresden-Rossendorf (HZDR)

Administration and Finance Committee (AFC) members

Chair: László Jakab

Jan Buriánek, Ministry of education, youth and sports, Czech Republic

Petr Lukáš, Institute of Physics of Materials Academy of Sciences, Czech Republic

István Szabó, National Research Development and Innovation Office, Hungary

Ileana Gimmillaro, Elettra - Sincrotrone Trieste S.C.p.A., Italy

Antonella Tajani, National Research Council (CNR), Italy

Tadas Juknevičius, Ministry of Education, Science and Sport, Lithuania

Svetoslav Valachev, Ministry of Education and Science, Bulgaria

Bernadette Klose, DLR Project Management Agency, Germany

Barbara Schramm, Helmholtz-Zentrum Dresden-Rossendorf (HZDR), Germany.


International Scientific and Technical Advisory Committee (ISTAC) members

Angela Bracco, 
Università di Milano/INFN

Francesca Calegari, 
CFEL (Center for Free-Electron Laser Science)

John Collier, Central Laser Facility

Colin Danson, University of Oxford

Marta Fajardo, Istituto Superior Tecnico, Lisbon

Roger Falcone, University of California, Berkeley

Sylvie Jacquemot, École Polytechnique

Wim Leemans, DESY (Deutsches Elektronen-Synchrotron)

Claudio Masciovecchio, Elettra (Fermi)

Mauro Nisoli, Politecnico di Milano (CNR)

Ulrich Schramm, Helmholtz-Zentrum Dresden-Rossendorf

Thomas Tschentscher, European XFEL

Arünas Varanavicius, University of Vilnius

Jon Zuegel, University of Rochester