On 30 April 2021, the Extreme Light Infrastructure (ELI) was granted the legal status of European Research Infrastructure Consortium (ERIC) by the European Commission. ELI ERIC will provide access to world-class high power and ultra-fast lasers for science and enable cutting-edge research in physical, chemical, materials, and medical sciences, as well as breakthrough technological innovations.

The ERIC is a specific legal form designed to facilitate the establishment and operation of Research Infrastructures of European interest. ERICs are participated by States and international organisations as members. As a main statutory mission, ELI ERIC is responsible for making the ELI Facilities available to the scientific community as a single international organisation, with unified governance and management.

The Czech Republic hosts the ELI ERIC statutory seat in Dolní Břežany, in the South of Prague, at the ELI Beamlines facility. A second facility, ELI-ALPS, is hosted by Hungary in Szeged. The Czech Republic and Hungary are joined by Italy and Lithuania as founding members, while Germany and Bulgaria are founding observers. A third ELI facility is under construction in Romania in the field of nuclear photonics and is expected to complement the current ELI ERIC facilities in the future.

The newly formed ELI ERIC is tasked with enabling scientists to access the state-of-the-art lasers at the ELI facilities. Access is open for all scientists and based on proposals evaluated by an independent panel.

The decision by the European Commission and the ERIC statutes from 2021 are publicly available in the EU Official Journal.

The most recent amendments to the ELI ERIC Statutes came into effect on 18 October 2023, and the consolidated amended version is available for preview HERE.

Key policies and other documents

ELI ERIC Gender Equality Plan (2022-2025)

Information on the protection of whistleblowers 

General Assembly and Appointed Representatives

On 16 June 2021, the first General Assembly of ELI ERIC was held with delegates and experts from each member and observer country. Allen Weeks, former Director General of ELI DC (Delivery Consortium, an international non-profit association that supported the coordinated implementation of the ELI research facilities) was appointed the Director General of ELI ERIC, while Prof. Caterina Petrillo was appointed Chair of the General Assembly.

                                                                                 Allen Weeks                                           Caterina Petrillo
                                                                   Director General of ELI ERIC                Chair of the General Assembly

Delegates and Experts of the General Assembly

Founding Members:

Czech Republic

Jan Řídký (Delegate)
Czech Academy of Sciences (CAS)

Jan Hrušák (Expert advisor)
Ministry of Education, Youth and Sports (MEYS)

Marek Vyšinka (Expert Advisor)
Ministry of Education, Youth and Sports (MEYS)

Michael Prouza (Expert Advisor)
Institute of Physics of the Czech Academy of Sciences (IoP)


Ferenc Nagy-Rébék (Delegate)
Head of Department, Ministry of Culture and Innovation (KIM)

István Szabó (Delegate) 
Deputy CEO for Strategy and Innovation, HUN-REN Hungarian Research Network


Sandro De Silvestri (Delegate)
National Research Council (CNR)

Michele Crisafi (Delegate)
Ministry of Education, University and Research (MIUR)

Eugenio Nappi (Expert advisor)
National Institute for Nuclear Physics (INFN)

Giorgio Rossi (Expert advisor)
University of Milan “Statale”


Gediminas Račiukaitis (Delegate)
Center for Physical Sciences and Technology

Aidas Matijošius (Delegate)
Laser Research Center, Vilnius University (VU)

Tadas Juknevičius (Expert advisor)
Ministry of Education, Science and Sport (SMMIN)

Founding Observers:


Milena Damyanova (Delegate)
Ministry of Education and Science (MON)

Lubomir Kovachev (Delegate)

Bulgarian Academy of Sciences (BAS)


Eckart Lilienthal (Delegate)
Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF)

Sebastian Schmidt (Delegate)

Helmholtz-Zentrum Dresden-Rossendorf (HZDR)

Bernadette Klose (Expert advisor)
DLR Project Management Agency

Barbara Schramm (Expert advisor)
Helmholtz-Zentrum Dresden-Rossendorf (HZDR)


Mihnea Cosmin Costoiu (Delegate)
National University of Science and Technology

Administrative and Finance Committee (AFC) members

Chair: László Bódis (Hungary, Ministry of Culture and Innovation (KIM)

Founding Members:

Czech Republic

Jan Buriánek (Vice-Chair, Delegate)
Ministry of Education, Youth and sports (MEYS)

Petr Lukáš (Delegate)
Nuclear Physics Institute (CAS)


László Lengyel (Delegate)
National Research, Development and Innovation Office (NRDI)


Veronica Buccheri (Delegate)
Istituto Nazionale di Fisica Nucleare (INFN)

Antonella Tajani (Delegate)
National Research Council (CNR)


Artūras Malysis (Delegate)
Ministry of Education, Science and Sport (SMMIN)

Founding Observers:


Zornitsa Georgieva (Delegate)
Ministry of Education and Science (MON)


Bernadette Klose (Delegate)
DLR Project Management Agency

Barbara Schramm (Delegate)
Helmholtz-Zentrum Dresden-Rossendorf (HZDR)


Andreea Crupa (Delegate)
Ministry of Research, Innovation and Digitalization


International Scientific and Technical Advisory Committee (ISTAC) members

Angela Bracco, 
Università di Milano/National Institute for Nuclear Physics, Italy

Francesca Calegari, 
Center for Free-Electron Laser Science, Germany

John Collier, Central Laser Facility, STFC Rutherford Appleton Laboratory, UK

Colin Danson, AWE Aldermaston, UK

Marta Fajardo, Istituto Superior Tecnico, Portugal

Roger Falcone, University of California, Berkeley, USA

Sylvie Jacquemot, École Polytechnique, France

Wim Leemans, Deutsches Elektronen-Synchrotron, Germany

Claudio Masciovecchio, Elettra (Fermi), Italy

Mauro Nisoli, Politecnico di Milano, Italy

Ulrich Schramm, Helmholtz-Zentrum Dresden-Rossendorf, Germany

Thomas Tschentscher, European XFEL, Germany

Arünas Varanavicius, University of Vilnius, Lithuania

Jon Zuegel, University of Rochester, USA